The Beast (A Villanelle)

Standard

I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane;
I lost the key, and forgot the gate.
(I only have myself to blame.)

I want to see cracks, your cool surface I’d maim,
So I could pull myself through, into your world:
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.

White flag raised, I give up the game
Scatter the pieces, just leave it to fate
(I only have myself to blame.)

A green fog crept into my brain:
Made its home as it unfurled:
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.

I have tried to escape, in vain.
The beast won’t sleep; he ignores my attempts to sate.
(I only have myself to blame.)

The roles of life I almost successfully feign,
These bonds, they hold, they sting, and grate.
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.
(I only have myself to blame.)
-LM Jones

3 thoughts on “The Beast (A Villanelle)

  1. Peter Jones

    It is who we feign to be that we really are, our true selves that we create with awareness. A decision to be what is simply good and right for our lives and those around us. Our only enemy, each of us individually, is our doubt that we can withstand the attacks of a flawed nature. Our Victory stands in evidence of those we love and love us in return….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

