One of Their Kind

Standard

One happy night
I walked down the side street
Of an old southern town
Lined with frosted trees
And a rain began to pelt
I laughed as they ran for shelter
“Come on Leah, get out of the rain!” They called.
Instead I smiled and lifted my face to the sky.
I relented to the cold night
And it’s slobbery kisses
No, I didn’t relent, I relished the cool dripping of my wet hair
Down the nape of my neck
As it traced a line along my shoulder blades
The wind and rain said to me
“you’re mine,” and I agreed
As raised fingers followed the caress
Yes, I am one of their kind.
-LM Jones

One thought on “One of Their Kind

Leave a Reply

