Alice and The White Rabbit

Standard

2015-02-28 14.57.19
One night, as I slept, I began to dream
That I was Alice in a field of green
And there you were, running by
With your pocket watch, jacket, and tie
I waved to you, “hey, wait for me!”
You rushed on, Can’t wait, I’m late! I can’t miss tea!”
“But I’d like to come along,” I said to you
“Then hurry! Don’t lapse! You’ll be left behind if you do.”
So I followed behind you as fast as I could
Until we reached a thorny black wood.
You gave it no thought as you raced on by
But the thorns tore my clothes and dug in my thigh.
“Hey! Wait for me, I’ve been caught!”
“I have no time to wait! You’ll have to keep up, like it or not!”
I couldn’t catch up so you ran on ahead.
I had nowhere to rest so the thorns were my bed.
Slowly, I freed myself and mended my wound,
And then you came back saying, “time to go, very soon.”
“You must keep up this time.” You began to scold.
“I will try,” I said. “Can you give me something to hold?”
You gave me the tail of your jacket to grasp
As faster and faster the world flew past.
I held on with all my might
Dragging the ground, Such a sight
Slamming into trees
I skinned both my knees
“Can you slow down? I’m losing my hold.”
“I can’t stop here! I’m late and it’s cold!”
Unable to grip, I finally let go
A small, sad figure, lying in the snow.
I opened my eyes and saw you there
My gaze meeting your resentful stare.
“You should have kept up! Why’d you let go?”
“Now look at you, lazing in snow!”
All I could say to meet your demand
“perhaps, if you’d paused to give me your hand?”
-LM Jones

6 thoughts on “Alice and The White Rabbit

  1. should you ever have the good fortune of collecting your verse into book form, please consider the title, “Alice in a Field of Green.”
    Sincerely,
    Former Lurker/Recent Follower/New Commenter,
    jdoublep

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

