Feel With Me

Standard

“Voices I play within my head
Touch my own skin
And hope that I’m still breathing”

If you could feel what I feel
You’d know how much brighter the sun burns for me
A fiery kiss
As sweat drips
Glistening on honey skin
Emerald eyes ablaze

If you could see what I see
You’d see the universe come to life by night
Oh how he awakes for me
Sending stars to ring my head
Their light like silk
Sliding down shoulders and breasts
Lingering on hips and legs

If you could hear what I hear
You’d hear the ground breath
Singing a song
As I sleep in the secret grove
Surrounded by trees that hum along
On my side I’m curled
Cheek to earth
She whispers to me of life
And longing

If you could smell what I smell
You’d smell the sky before the storm
Waves of ozone and electricity
Crackling between raised fingertips
Hair floating with static
A red halo
I smell the wolf at my side
Wild and fierce, like me
Awaiting the lightning that will come.

-LM Jones

Leave a Reply

