That Stirring Night

Standard

You asked
“What are your thoughts”
As I was lying in the grass
I looked upon stars flying in the night
I didn’t answer
For my sacred thoughts are my own
I don’t give them freely
Besides
You’d never understand
The monster
Stirring inside of me
This restless rage
I hide from you
This desire
To be everywhere
Do everything
It oozes
Seeps
From green eyes
And ivory pores
As I watch the stars
I say nothing
As it requires all my strength
To rein myself in
And pack myself nicely inside
The box that better suits you
You won’t see me
You never do.
-LM Jones

5 thoughts on “That Stirring Night

Leave a Reply

