Will You?

Standard

“Will you still love me when I’m no longer young and beautiful?
Will you still love me when I’ve got nothing but my aching soul?”

There’s a green light
It hovers on the edge of consciousness
Sometimes dim
Then, as blinding as the sun
A beacon or is it siren song?

There’s a green light
That beckons me to you
And like Gatsby
I’m drawn to the color of my desire
Bound by a dreaming spirit

There’s a green light
As I stand, arm outstretched…reaching
The masses can’t see
Don’t want to comprehend
What it is that draws us
You, I…and Gatsby

Green is the color of love
Even more so than red
You can see it in my eyes
The place that passion blessed
Meet my gaze, it’s there you’ll find
That all the lovely shades of green…are made mine.
-LM Jones

One thought on “Will You?

Leave a Reply

