Not About Angels

Standard

“That’s the thing about pain, it demands to be felt.”

Yes, pain demands to be felt
An inferno arising from within
Refuses to be ignored
No point in placation

I have learned to let tears fall
Wherever they may
And I will feel no shame
In my submission
I give myself over to the tidal wave

Total surrender
As up up up…I’m carried
Then, reaching the crest, I’m pushed
Not over, but back
To fall and crash

Churned with the rocks and shells
I am become smooth
Refinement in the fire
I’m gold
Made new from the old

And from below calm waters
I see the brilliant dawn
Violently
I break the surface
Breathing life in sobbing gulps

Astonishment! As golden wings unfurl
And I begin to rise
The watchers wait to see
That an angel has been born.

-LM Jones
(Quote: The Fault in Our Stars)

5 thoughts on “Not About Angels

Leave a Reply

