The Beast (A Villanelle)

Standard

Nothing Gold Can Stay

I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane;
I lost the key, and forgot the gate.
(I only have myself to blame.)

I want to see cracks, your cool surface I’d maim,
So I could pull myself through, into your world:
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.

White flag raised, I give up the game
Scatter the pieces, just leave it to fate
(I only have myself to blame.)

A green fog crept into my brain:
Made its home as it unfurled:
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.

I have tried to escape, in vain.
The beast won’t sleep; he ignores my attempts to sate.
(I only have myself to blame.)

The roles of life I almost successfully feign,
These bonds, they hold, they sting, and grate.
I’m sure you’ve driven me quite insane.
(I only have myself to blame.)
-LM Jones

View original post

7 thoughts on “The Beast (A Villanelle)

Leave a Reply

