Moonlight Sonata

Standard

“And I, infinitesimal being,
Drunk with the great starry void,
Likeness, image of mystery,
Felt myself a pure part
Of the abyss,
I wheeled with the stars,
My heart broke loose on the wind.”

Beneath the keening stars
I was lying in softest grass
Golden light of Mars
The moon could not surpass

Delicious breeze of Fall
Gently kissing exposed skin
Demanded no less than all
Frozen tears upon chin

The beauty of the singing void
The universe burned bright for me
Light drifted to eyes and toyed
Visions only I could see

Slowly
I began to sleep
Lowly
My thoughts would keep

Under the chaos I discovered my rest
For yes, my soul was unsound
Yet, in that moment I felt blessed
Pieces of me longing to be found.
-LM Jones

(Quote: Pablo Neruda.
Painting: Jon Masters https://m.facebook.com/thehomelessartist)

11 thoughts on “Moonlight Sonata

Leave a Reply

