Innocence and the Ghost

Standard

Nothing Gold Can Stay

I dreamt of a little blonde thing
With the ocean in her eyes
I followed and heard her sing
Off key notes drifting in skies

She didn’t seem to care who heard
It was her gift to the trees
Where she perched with the birds
Tangled hair and skinned knees

I watched as if trapped in a slow haze
Her world, so vivid, even at night
In memory it’s all just a daze
Of sweet smelling fields, golden and bright

I watched as she skipped through winding creeks
And bare feet flew over red dirt paths
Outside her kingdom they knew her as meek
Here, even the breeze echoed her laughs

I trailed the sound of her joy
As ethereal as the light on her hair
A moment I’d never destroy
But suddenly she turned and saw me there

Like a mirror in a funhouse, we faced
It was a…

View original post 25 more words

3 thoughts on “Innocence and the Ghost

Leave a Reply

