I’ll Sit in the Ashes With You

Standard

“I’ll sit in the ashes with you”
And here I sit…alone
Music lost its hue
No comfort for ugly bones

Ashes on my head
Ashes in my eyes
Ashes are my bed
Ashes for your lies

Cut deep…and watch it turn to clay
Flow and sigh
Red like roads where I’d play
Red like pulse…behind closed eyes

Little girl full of dreams
As happy as you’ll ever be
Trapped inside she screams
Please don’t grow to be me

Such a lovely mess, my dear
How they adore your tortured soul
Now black liner smeared
Mourn another piece he stole

So easily capture his eyes
So easily enflame his desire
So easily inspire his lies
So easily led to his fire.

Stir the ashes
Into crimson clay
Lightning flashes
On another day.
-LM Jones

3 thoughts on “I’ll Sit in the Ashes With You

  1. Extraordinary. The title captured me and your hypnotic writing wouldn’t let me go. Stir the ashes
    Into crimson clay Lightning flashes On another day. I wish I wrote that. LOL Haunting and poetic. One of the best examples of poetry on the internet. A truly amazing piece. Please keep writing so I can keep reading. I will be back for more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

