Patchwork Phoenix

Standard

Nothing Gold Can Stay

“She was made of all complicated things,
But she always had a simplicity
In the way that she laughed.
And that is all she ever wanted,
For someone to understand her
While she was out making sense of her soul
And the handful of flowers
Blooming from the top of her skull.”

Brilliant sunrise breaking through
The shadow of fear in my mind
Tangled thoughts have been renewed
I think I’ll explore what’s left to find

I suppose I shall gather my scattered parts
With a thread of many colors I’ll begin to sew
After surveying the fields of my broken heart
My colorful patches will brightly show

Reds, golds, greens and paisley too
I’ll be a patchwork phoenix on the rise
From the ashes I intend to be made new
See the birth of spring within my eyes

No longer enslaved to fear and shame
Though the journey will…

View original post 22 more words

Leave a Reply

