Something True

Standard

The sun is bright today
After an eternity of clouds and rain
A choice, to tuck sadness away
It will keep, this nagging pain

“I forgive you”
That’s so cliche
So I’ll say something true
I don’t. No, not today

Nor tomorrow, as well
But here I stand
A heart longing to swell
Catching light on trembling hands

Open still
Though not for you
So go on, toil and mill
Does old dust reveal anything new?

You’ll discover it’s all the same, I’m afraid
But don’t come looking for me
You go twist in the bed you’ve made
I intend to waltz with this breeze

And so I’m called away
The wind is tugging my hair
I won’t miss you as I play
Won’t hear your laughter in the air.

-LM Jones

4 thoughts on “Something True

Leave a Reply

