The Joy and the Sting

Standard

Nothing Gold Can Stay

“Cause it’s a bittersweet symphony, this life”

I remember a song that defined my youth

I knew the truth of it even then

And the symphony glides over my skin

Silken tendrils gently encasing heart

Where bitter thorn is pressed

“It stings.” I whimper

Ah, but there’s no separating the joy and the sting

This I have learned

Behind closed lids I can see

The colors of the symphony

As they dance and swirl, roll and flicker

Slowly fingers rise to the melody

Conductors in their own right

There’s no resisting the bitter and the sweet

The joy and the sting

And so,

My body moves to the rhythm

It sways

I accept

And roll with this symphony called life.

-LM Jones

(Quote: bittersweet symphony by The Verve.)

View original post

One thought on “The Joy and the Sting

Leave a Reply

