Halo

Standard

As the halo of the moon
Dips to kiss the fevered trees
Night’s creatures stir and croon
My wayward tears are caught on knees

Knees planted firmly in red southern clay
Yet a mind Spinning and wild with stars
And there’s nothing they can say
To force rogue soul behind gold bars

I dreamt the halo kissed you too
And left a mark upon your brow
Each day to be renewed
An immortal strumming vow

I will wait for you beneath the halo
I’ll walk dark paths to find my peace
Softly, cradled by the weeping willow
Rest to be had, yet no release

You have my heart
Never should you question this
We knew, you and I, from the start
The moon chose us, blessed and kissed.

-LM Jones

3 thoughts on “Halo

Leave a Reply

