Round and Round

Standard

“What an interesting job I’ve chosen for myself,”
I think as I circle round and round
I HATE crowds
Yet here I am…in the mall
In the midst of the tide
As they roll by
“Miss America! My card for you!”
German yells to some cute little thing
Our mission…
To get women to stop
And try our outrageously expensive product
We are the hunter
They are our prey
I arch an eyebrow
As some snob stares with disdain
At my card
I know what she’s thinking
“Poor little kiosk worker,
You must make minimum wage.”
I resist the urge to tell her
“I’ve probably made more than your husband.”
My sales reach $1500
So I’ve made $500
In one day.
I hardly care though
In all honesty
This job is so draining
Twelve hour days
On my feet
Around and around
We’re so amusing to the employees at Apple
And Helzberg Diamonds
As we rush like rats in a cage
And all the emotional connections
That I must make
In a matter of moments
I know someone’s life story
And gain her trust
The best sales though,
Are the ones that end with a hug
She loves the product
And is happy with the price
Those are the sales
That help me sleep at night.
-LM Jones

4 thoughts on “Round and Round

Leave a Reply

